NIPR Inaugurates New Council, Confers Fellowship

The Nigerian Institute of Public Relations has inaugurated new a Council at its Annual General Meeting held in Bauchi to pilot the affairs of the  institute. The inauguration was performed virtually immediately after the elections by the Minister of Information and Culture, Alh Lai Mohammed, in accordance with the statutes of the Institute.

Although the President and Chairman of Council, Mallam Mukhtar Sirajo and ACG Adewale Adeniyi were returned as President and Vice President respectively, the new members inaugurated include Mrs. Thelma Chika Okoh, Dr Ike Neliaku, Mr. Olusina Thorpe, Brig. Gen SK Usman, Rtd, Dr Tayo Haastrup, Mrs Prisscilla Ihuoma and Mr. Sunny Osuji

Also 21 members of the institute including the Public Relations Consultants Association of Nigeria (PRCAN) President, Israel Jaiye Opayemi,were conferred with the NIPR Fellowship Award, the highest membership cadre.

Also, the Executive Governor of Bauchi State, Senator Bala Mohammed was inducted as a Patron of the NIPR, in line with the provisions of Decree 16 of 1990, now an act of parliament.

The President further said that the Institute has put on the front burner, the total professionalization of Public Relations, both as a unique profession in its own right, and as an industry generally, noting that the fight against quackery and other misconducts are beginning to bear fruits. He also called on the Governor to direct all Bauchi State officers as well as those working in the public service in various Public Relations Departments to register with, and henceforth participate in the activities of the Institute, as the law establishing the Institute makes it a criminal offence for anybody to practice Public Relations without being a member of the NIPR.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *